Board Members

Meet Your RTHC Board Members Julie Atkinson-FountainChairperson/President Appointed: May 2018 Ashley JohnsonVice Chairperson/Vice President Appointed: August 2019 Kathy AndersonTreasurerAppointed: February 2018 Amanda FlesherAppointed: November 2018 Lorie WallaceAppointed: March 2023 Lou WysockiAppointed: 2021 Emeritus Board Members: Amanda "Mac" MacDermaidServed 2016 - 2022 Redford Township Designated Historians: Fred DesAutels Served 1969 - 1974 Sybil RaesideServed c.1970s - 2008 Volunteer/Associate … Continue reading Board Members


RTHC Celebrates “Heritage Day”

The Redford Township Historical Commission will celebrate its 50th anniversary on May 4, 2019 with a special event at the Redford History Center, located at 12895 Berwyn. Current Commission members will pay tribute to past members and their important work preserving Redford’s history. Founding Commission members Fred and Aileen DesAutels, in particular, will be honored. … Continue reading RTHC Celebrates “Heritage Day”

The Methodist Children’s Home Society

If you've ever driven on 6 Mile Rd, between Beech Daly and Inkster, you have likely seen The Methodist Children's Home Society, commonly referred to as Children's Village. A short brick wall carrying the name separates the continuous traffic flow of this busy road from this peaceful, park-like property. One of the few buildings visible … Continue reading The Methodist Children’s Home Society